Sunday, March 30, 2014

The Stars Aligned

By Kristi Belcamino
I’m just going to say right off the bat that I’m a little bit intimidated to even attempt to fill Joelle Charbonneau’s shoes on this amazing blog.
Why? Well, because she’s a rock star.
Joelle is one of the most dedicated and talented writers I know. And for some reason, I’ve been lucky enough to have her in my corner for the last few years. Damn lucky.
We first met when she judged a contest I entered. She wrote her name on my judging form, and asked me to keep in touch. Ever since that day, she’s been one of the most supportive and nicest writers I’ve ever met. And as I got to know her, I soon realized she was by far one of the hardest working writers out there, as well.
So when Joelle asked me to take her spot here at Do Some Damage on Sundays, I was floored, flattered, and thrilled at the same time. She’ll be back to guest post and I made sure to tell her if she ever changes her mind, this spot is really and truly always hers.
By now, though, you’re probably wondering who is Kristi Belcamino.
I’m a crime fiction writer, Italian mama of two feisty little girls, and a part-time newspaper reporter living in Minneapolis. My first novel, Blessed are the Dead, goes on sale June 10th. It’s inspired by my dealings with a serial killer when I was a full-time cops reporter working the San Francisco Bay Area crime beat.
When my editor and publicist found out I’d been asked to join Do Some Damage, they immediately suggested I reveal the cover for my new book here first. (Just shows how respected and beloved this blog is.)
Steve Weddle was gracious enough to give me the thumbs up on revealing my cover as part of my first post and the stars aligned.
Before I do so, I want to thank Steve and Joelle and all you loyal readers for allowing me to take over the Sunday spot on this blog. I’ve got a bunch of ideas for posts, but am also very excited to hear what you’d like to read about, so feel free to shoot me an email at kristibelcamino@gmail.com and tell me your thoughts and ideas. You can also find out more about me at my website, www.kristibelcamino.com or on Facebook at https://www.facebook.com/kristibelcaminowriter.
Thank you so much for allowing me to be part of Do Some Damage!
Here is the back cover copy for my book, Blessed are the Dead

To catch a killer, one reporter must risk it all...
San Francisco Bay Area newspaper reporter Gabriella Giovanni spends her days on the crime beat flitting in and out of other people’s nightmares, yet walking away unscathed.
When a little girl disappears on the way to the school bus stop, her quest for justice and a front-page story leads her to a convicted kidnapper, Jack Dean Johnson, who reels her in with promises to reveal his exploits as a long-time serial killer to her alone. Gabriella's passion for her job quickly spirals into obsession when she begins to suspect Johnson may have ties to her own dark past: her sister’s murder.
 Risking her life, her job, and everything she holds dear, Gabriella embarks on a path to find answers and stop a deranged murderer before he strikes again.
Perfect for fans of Sue Grafton and Laura Lippman's Tess Monaghan series!

If you want to preorder a copy of the book you can do that here.  
If you don't want to wait, keep an eye on my Facebook page. You might just have a chance to win an early copy. 
And (drumroll please) here is the cover:




18 comments:

Steve Weddle said...

Looks great. Welcome aboard.

If Jay talks you into singing karaoke, make sure he doesn't record it for youtube. Trust me on this.

Joelle Charbonneau said...

Yay cover reveal. I know this book has been on a long road to publication. Sometimes it feels so long that it is hard to believe that publication is really coming. Getting a cover always makes it feel real for me. I, for one, can't wait until June 10th!

Kristi said...

Thanks Steve and Joelle. And yes, Joelle, you know how long this road has been. The cover does make it all seem so real!
And thanks for the heads up about Stringer. I'll keep my eye on him. (Stringer, believe me you don't want to hear me sing. I'm already infamous in my family for my absurd attempts to play the didgeridoo. You pretty much say Kristi and didgeridoo in one sentence and people laugh until they cry. It's sad but true.)

Kristi said...
This comment has been removed by the author.
George at The Thirty Year Itch said...

Welcome and congratulations on not only the Sunday spot but on the book. Good luck with both.

George at The Thirty Year Itch said...

P.S.

Book preordered!

Alex Segura said...

Awesome cover! Welcome aboard, newbie twin!

Brad Parks said...

Wait... there's karaoke on this blog?? How come no one ever invited me?

And, oh yeah, welcome Kristi! Joelle played an important role in civilizing this blog -- you know McLean's ancestors only started walking upright two generations ago, right? -- and I trust you will do the same.

David Cranmer said...

I'm sorry to see Joelle leave. Her last year's posts, in particular, are some of the finest in the blogging world. With that being said, its already obvious DSD filled the shoes correctly. Best of luck, Kristi.

Kristi said...
This comment has been removed by the author.
Kristi said...


Thanks so much! Clearly I was right to be a bit intimidated in taking over this spot -- Joelle is an incredibly tough act to follow. Again, I'm very honored to be here. xoxo

Jeff Shelby said...

Cover looks AWESOME!!!

Sarah Henning said...

Great first post, Kristi! You'll do a great job here, that much is for sure. And to everyone reading this: BLESSED ARE THE DEAD is a GREAT book!

Kent Gowran said...

Nice! Glad to see you here at Do Some Damage, Kristi.

Kristi said...

Thanks Shelby! Fun to see all these friendly faces here. Thanks Sarah! Hope you love the final version -- far cry from the one you read so long ago! (revision is my friend!)
Hi Kent! Nice to see you here, as well. Thanks for the warm welcome!

Bryon Quertermous said...

You, Joelle, it's all an endless cycle of failure trying to fill my shoes. Good luck with that kid.

Also, the cover does look awesome.

Kristi said...

Bryon,
You're a riot. I expect no less.
Thanks about the cover comment.
And thanks for calling me a kid. I can't remember the last time someone called me that. Had to be when I was a reporter. (We'll show each other DOB's on driver's licenses at Bouchercon and see which one of us is considered the kid! : )

Kristi said...

Bryon,
You're a riot. I expect no less.
Thanks about the cover comment.
And thanks for calling me a kid. I can't remember the last time someone called me that. Had to be when I was a reporter. (We'll show each other DOB's on driver's licenses at Bouchercon and see which one of us is considered the kid! : )